Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Sharpest out of the package fixed 3 blade BH?

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Sharpest out of the package fixed 3 blade BH?

Postby olympushunt » 03 15, 2017 •  [Post 1]

Hey y'all. I am hoping to get some opinions on what people feel they have had out of the package SCARY sharp broadheads. I traditionally have shot fixed 3 blade broadheads but I am open to others too. I have been shooting Muzzy MX3 and they have performed well for me but am always looking for a new toy I guess. The last 2 elk I have killed,the ferrule busted, so I am keeping one eye on those bheads.
I just bought another 3 of the Shuttle T in 125....the other I had in the past were 100 grains. I really am not happy with the sharpness out of the package the Shuttle Ts are and I am not very good with a stone or any sharpener for that matter. Their blade shape also would be hard to work on I think. Ideally a bhead would be crazy sharp out of the gate so I am looking for opinions on what people have liked for sharpness right out of the package. Thoughts???
Thanks!
olympushunt

Re: Sharpest out of the package fixed 3 blade BH?

Postby WapitiTalk1 » 03 15, 2017 •  [Post 2]

Ya, unfortunately the replaceable blade BH's don't always come razor sharp but most aren't bad I spose. I have several varieties of hand held sharpeners that do a good job touching up these types of BH's (one pictured below is a Lansky). I know, a guy shouldn't have to touch up a brand new BH! I remember the old Wasp BHs were very, very sharp out of the package (side note). Curious to see what others say as far as "out of the package" very sharp BH's.

product_thumb.jpg
product_thumb.jpg (30.65 KiB) Viewed 11608 times
WapitiTalk1

First Name: RJ

Postby TimeOnTarget » 03 16, 2017 •  [Post 3]

The last sharp out of the pack heads i used were muzzy 3 blades. The originals.