Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Gear list for a newbie. Help Outfit me!

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Gear list for a newbie. Help Outfit me!

Postby Medstudent2019 » 06 09, 2017 •  [Post 1]

So im just getting into elk hunting and one thing ive heard over and over is "get good gear!" Im a student and on a tight budget, but I figure ill get hooked the day i hear my first bugle, so I should probably get gear that will last a few seasons. I have looked at boots a little and packs a little. What are you alls top must haves for the moutains/elk hunts? Boots and a good pack seem to be high on the list so you can start there!
Medstudent2019

Re: Gear list for a newbie. Help Outfit me!

Postby Backyard » 06 09, 2017 •  [Post 2]

Well Med, I think a person(s) would need a little more info first. What "type" of pack and boots are you looking for? Will you be packing in? Or base camping and returning each evening? In what type of weather or season (month) will you be hunting. I think I saw that you may be going in October. That would definitely be a different boot choice than say an early Sept. hunt.
So might I suggest doing a little editing to your question, then sit back and watch the help pour in. ;)

And be forewarned; this elk hunting thing will drive your every reason for being. Careful,,, :D
Backyard

Postby WapitiTalk1 » 06 09, 2017 •  [Post 3]

Oh we love to help fellow WT'ers shop. Ya, as Backyard mentioned, provide a bit more info on season, time frame, weapon(s) you'll be deploying, etc, and we'll chime in ;).
WapitiTalk1

First Name: RJ

Postby Medstudent2019 » 06 09, 2017 •  [Post 4]