Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Lions, Tigers, and Elk... OH MY!

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Lions, Tigers, and Elk... OH MY!

Postby WapitiTalk1 » 10 08, 2017 •  [Post 1]

Well, I was had by the king during my ID archery elk hunt this year. Although I didn't bring any meat back to my garage freezer, our camp did get to feast on fresh elk loins and straps for several nights (thanks to one of our camp members). The elk pops in the area I've been hunting for 5-6 years are declining, and, the wolf encroachment has definitely changed their physical mannerisms to include vocalization... I'll leave that story for another thread... Not sure, but I may be looking for a new wapiti hunting area for 2018. Back on track.... I was had by the king! On day 4 or 5 of our elk hunt, we had all just settled in to our tents for a well deserved rest (around 10:00 PM if I remember correctly) and just over the bank from my tent I heard (we all heard) a loud scream that I had heard before in the elk woods (but not so close to my sleeping quarters). From his tent Joe hollered "what the F was that"? I responded with "mountain lion.... she woke me up and I was almost asleep". We didn't hear any other noises that night but a big cat so close to our tents made us take pause before we finally dozed off. Joe and I did a half day hunt the next morning and when we returned to camp we started discussing the screaming we had heard the night before. It seemed too "clear" if that makes any sense. My buddy and I started suspecting there was a rat in camp and we did a sweep below our tents for perhaps a predator call but found nothing. Yep, a few days later old Swede came clean and showed me his instrument that he had placed below our tents. What a jokester! A bit later in the evening he again came clean and told me the elk bugle we had heard down the road from camp on our July scouting trip was made by none other than the same electronic gadget. I a