Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Bugling "consistency"

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Bugling "consistency"

Postby Moose Man » 08 06, 2013 •  [Post 1]

First and foremost, thanks for all the great insights on this site. My goodness. I'm new to elk hunting and having access to this wealth of knowledge is a privilege.

One thing that I've thought of as I'm practicing my calling is bugling "consistency". This might be a stupid question but based on what I've read/understood, elk in a certain area recognize the local bulls by their bugles. Say I enter an area and let out a location bugle, a local bull get curious (hopefully) as there's a new kid on the block. Assuming I'd do additional bugles after this (if scenario calls for it) how important is it to deliver the "same" bugle (tone/age) to maintain my "signature"? Put it a different way, would a bull get suspicious if the next bugle sounds very different?

I know I might be over thinking it but curious to know.

MM
Moose Man

First Name: Erik

Re: Bugling "consistency"

Postby WapitiTalk1 » 08 06, 2013 •  [Post 2]

Good question Erik. For the most part, location bugles are just that. It's kind of a "hey, I'm here... are you there" thing. Somewhat of a social call bulls use to feel their oats and see who may be in their basin, draw, alder choked mountainside, etc.. If you receive a response to a location bugle (during the rut particularly), it's time to turn off your bugle and move towards the bull who answered you if you feel you have a good idea of where he is, or, where he may be going (dependent on the time of the day). As far as being busted for a "hey, you don't sound the same as you did last time", I wouldn't worry about that too much as when you get in closer to the bull who answered you, you probably won't be using the same type of bull sound anyway (location bugle). Remember what bulls are looking for during the rut.... COWS, period.