Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Wind???

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Wind???

Postby larry83 » 09 11, 2016 •  [Post 1]

So I always read that you must use wind to your advantage. What do you do when the wind is all over the place? I would wind check and every time the wind was blowing a different way. I'd wait 15 to 20 minutes and same. How do you play the wind if it is blowing all directions? Thank you for your help in advance.
larry83

Re: Wind???

Postby Lefty » 09 11, 2016 •  [Post 2]

Im new to the mountains swirling winds this is what we did: Last week the wind really worked against us. There was a general wind direction from the WSW. We only made set-ups where we were well above in elevation the incoming elk( that never showed) We called into the over-all wind direction. Some places we didnt call others we sat for a short time

Ive watched bear burns,.. From what Ive seen in the mountains the winds will swirl even if you think the wind is from one direction. Wind is a fluid it is amazing how it really flows similar to underground water
Lefty
Wapiti Hunting - Strategy and Tactics

First Name: Dennis
Last Name: H

Postby cohunter » 09 11, 2016 •  [Post 3]

Sometimes the steeper draws and gullies have more predictable wind in the mountains, but you're right... it's pretty tricky up there. Especially with the weather pattern we had in CO the first two weeks of the season. Pretty enlightening to me this season sitting a waterhole where my wind was good for 10 minutes, then a sudden swirl. I twice had elk come in to around 100-150 yards from the waterhole on the upwind side. They'd pause and graze until the wind swirled (i'm pretty sure they were just waiting for that to happen) and then they'd catch my scent and take off. The other chance is if you can get ahead of them on a sidehill as the wind tends to swirl more up and down the slope.
cohunter

Postby CurlyTail » 09 12, 2016 •  [Post 4]