Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Colorado Archery Success

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Colorado Archery Success

Postby N2mywake » 10 11, 2019 •  [Post 1]

the rig.jpg
the rig.jpg (43.01 KiB) Viewed 3831 times
We succeed or Fail as a team! These hunts I've been sharing with my Dad since 2005. Like the odds show our success is here and there but the success we've shared has been pretty good. The last three years my buddy Patrick has been added to the team and has been a great fit (like a brother).

2017 we had a few opportunities that fell apart. 2018 was hot and rough. Fast forward to 2019 found us back in a favorite valley I've not been in since 2015. Hopes were high leading into the trip.

The day we started the journey from Kentucky to Colorado Patrick took a direct blow to his lower leg with a 4lb sledge hammer. He opted to ignore the pain and move forward. We started the journey from Kentucky to Colorado.... No looking back.

Dad had back surgery back in the spring and was only cleared for training 6 weeks ago. He will turn 70 in November. He scored on a public land giant (to us) in 2013. A proud archery moment for sure.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Attachments
The team.jpg
The team.jpg (405.98 KiB) Viewed 3832 times
West Kentucky Boy
N2mywake

Re: Colorado Archery Success

Postby N2mywake » 10 11, 2019 •  [Post 2]

Fast forward to arriving to our drop camp, although the view of the familiar valley was welcomed, there wasn't great news The muzzle loader hunters in there before us were to pack out. The news wasn't good. They had killed 2 bulls (raghorns) and a cow and wounded another good bull. My heart sank. To make it worse, they let me know some guys had hiked in a few days before into the key hunting area and setup camp. This was a terrible scenario for us. This was my "Plan A" area to hunt.