Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

What is a partner?

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

What is a partner?

Postby Tom Grates » 10 26, 2019 •  [Post 1]

I am new to elk hunting, and when me and Indian Summer talked about partnering up, I was pretty much dumb on what exactly a partner was.
This year, after two weeks of elk hunting, I now realize what exactly it is.
It is the only person you talk to for two weeks, the one not only there to help physically, but to lift you mentally. To teach each other not only hunting situations but life situations. To kick you in the ass when you are down and feeling defeated. To make a plan and follow that plan until you need to change it.
I harvested my first bull on my first bull hunt on the last night of our hunt. I would probably have given up if I was alone, but Joe pushed me and kept me going. He taught me the skills needed to be successful, but also left me make the needed mistakes to learn.
I put everything together that last night and can honestly say I am 10 times better of a hunter than I was two weeks ago.
Slow down, hunt, and watch each other's back, make sure we both make it home.
I am now an elk hunter!
Tom Grates

Re: What is a partner?

Postby WapitiTalk1 » 10 26, 2019 •  [Post 2]

Excellent! Congrats on a successful hunt with old IS this year Tom; have a safe trip back to your ranch. Anxious to hear about your adventure in the Cowboy State.
WapitiTalk1

First Name: RJ

Postby Swede » 10 26, 2019 •  [Post 3]

I am fine hunting with family, friends and guests, but partners are the best. It is even better when family and friends are the partners. A partner is there to help set up camp and tree stands. They are with you the whole way, and finally to pack up and leave. My cousin is a good partner when he hunts with me. My brother is a faithful partner and he does not actually hunt.
Tom' I am pleased you got to experience a successful hunt and a good partner.
Swede