Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

8 points in Colorado

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

8 points in Colorado

Postby Chad44 » 01 31, 2013 •  [Post 1]

What do you think would be the best way to use 8 points in CO.? Or keep saving? I am in no real hurry because I have a good OTC unit I hunt. Just asking what you think.
Thanks
Chad44

First Name: Chad
Last Name: Davies

Re: 8 points in Colorado

Postby upacreek » 01 31, 2013 •  [Post 2]

Are they 8 resident or NR points?
upacreek

Postby cnelk » 02 01, 2013 •  [Post 3]

If you are a CO Resident, keep saving them

If you are a NR, keep saving them... :)
cnelk

First Name: Brad
Last Name: K

Postby otcWill » 02 01, 2013 •  [Post 4]

Takes 10 for a nonres in 76 and there are some great opps there if you do your research. Good luck!
otcWill

Postby Chad44 » 02 01, 2013 •  [Post 5]

I'm a resident.
Chad44

Postby cnelk » 02 01, 2013 •  [Post 6]

Obviously 8 years ago when you started saving them you had something in mind... ?
cnelk

First Name: Brad
Last Name: K

Postby Chad44 » 02 02, 2013 •  [Post 7]

I didn't really. I obviously thought of saving for 20+ years and hunting the big ones( 10, 2, 201 ect). But now it's looking like those will never be reached by me. Started the game too late. Thought about 61 and 76 too. I not in a hurry just kinda seeing what a guy would do. Conversation starter I guess. I get the Eastmans with the member research sections and I'm on the DOW website looking around a lot too but those don't give first hand knowledge of a unit. Maybe a guy here hunted 76 last year and was disappointed.
Chad44

Postby buglmin » 02 05, 2013 •  [Post 8]

GMU 76 is really starting to be a disappointment. Lots of elk, but a 300" bull in most of the unit is a good bull. Lots of guys hunt the Ute Creek Area, Palisade Meadows Area, or the Rio Grande Piramid Area and the area around the Rio Grande Resivior.