Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Planning first elk hunt.

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Planning first elk hunt.

Postby archerynut611 » 02 26, 2013 •  [Post 1]

Hello all, I am new to this, and me and a friend are trying to plan our 1st elk hunt. We want to do it with are bows. Any input that you experienced elk hunters can offer would be a huge help.
Do we use an outfitter or do it ourselves?
What calls use?
Where to go?( we are thinking about Colorado)
Again, any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Henry
archerynut611

First Name: Henry
Last Name: Whipple

Re: Planning first elk hunt.

Postby FemoralArchery » 02 26, 2013 •  [Post 2]

Here are a few more questions for you.

Where are you from?

Do you plan on driving or flying/renting?

What kind of budget do you have?

How much time will you have to hunt?
FemoralArchery

First Name: Adam

Postby otcWill » 02 26, 2013 •  [Post 3]

Pretty general question. Here's a general answer: DIY, diaphrams, Wyoming. Good luck! :D
otcWill

Postby archerynut611 » 02 26, 2013 •  [Post 4]

We are from NH and at this time we are thinking about driving. We will both have about 10 days. If we can swing this for 4000.00 or less that would be great.
archerynut611

Postby archerynut611 » 02 26, 2013 •  [Post 5]

otcWill wrote:Pretty general question. Here's a general answer: DIY, diaphrams, Wyoming. Good luck! :D
Its a pretty general question because I have never elk hunted before so Im looking for input from experienced elk hunters that will help me make sure I covering everything.
archerynut611

Postby Moose-head » 02 26, 2013 •  [Post 6]

I'm not sucking up or anything :oops: ;) but the first step that I recommend to anybody who asks me about elk hunting is the elknut videos.
Moose-head

First Name: Dana

Postby msd1228 » 02 26, 2013 •  [Post 7]