Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

perceptions

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

perceptions

Postby ST52V » 03 05, 2013 •  [Post 1]

I am new at this and have learned lots from my two trips to Colorado. Last year, we went in archery season with the idea of hearing elk bugle. It was just me and my father in law. We took 2 quads to travel the rough roads and reach some of our hunting areas (responsible) . Before the trip, my father in law spent $600 on each quad to fix some brake issues and have them checked out. We didn't check them out before we left and quickly found out they were not fixed. I did see 1 bull and a few cows, but we never heard any bugles. A cow in the camp ground also ripped the pole and rope out of the tent we rented. After all of this frustration,some tension betwen him and I and the perception of the area from other hunters we pulled the plug and came home. Looking back we should have stayed a few more days and did some things differently. I think it is very important to get a very clear understanding of what other hunters have to say and why they say it. Most of the people we ran into said there are no elk in here and its way to dry. It's the drought!! I talked to a Colorado resident who I percieved to know what he was doing. He in his brother in law were muzzy hunting. He had his own horses and 20 year old davis tent. He had that cowboy, outfitter look to him. They were very nice and talked to me for a while. When I mentioned pressure, he laughed and said theres no pressure in here. He had been in there scouting prior to season and placed light fishing line across many of the trails. He said they were there when he returned to hunt. They pulled out on wednesday after hunting 4 days. My thought was wow those guys had horses and muzzys and could find or kill an elk. How am I going to do it with a bow on my 2 feet? I should have asked questions about there hunting style to better understand why they w