Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

To all the new elk hunters.......

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Postby RockChucker30 » 03 07, 2013 •  [Post 1]

A friend and I are writing a season long series of blog articles covering everything needed to be successful on an elk hunt.

My question to all of you is: What topics should we cover? What does a new elk hunter most need to know?
RockChucker30
Site Sponsor

First Name: Nathan
Last Name: Coleman

Re: To all the new elk hunters.......

Postby mandrroofing » 03 07, 2013 •  [Post 2]

What's consider new?
mandrroofing

First Name: Matt

Postby mudhole » 03 07, 2013 •  [Post 3]

All the basics. Don't assume any knowledge on part of the reader. Also, when I started to read about it, one of the best things for me was a personal story to go along with the advice. It helped me visualize the advice and understand a little better. As a community college instructor, I can tell you that students will perk up for a real life story when I have been boring them with the facts. And don't forget to emphasize the importance of enjoying the experience.
mudhole

Postby RockChucker30 » 03 07, 2013 •  [Post 4]

We want any elk hunter, even the old salts, to benefit from reading the series. But the reality is that if you've killed an elk every year for 20 years you don't need help.

The focus will be how to go into an area blind or with little scouting time and maximize your chances at taking meat home. It's not about trophy hunting.
RockChucker30
Site Sponsor

Postby cnelk » 03 07, 2013 •  [Post 5]

Look at the post ' planning first elk hunt'

You should be able to gleen something from that?
cnelk

First Name: Brad
Last Name: K

Postby ElkNut1 » 03 07, 2013 •  [Post 6]