Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Looking for a partner?

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Looking for a partner?

Postby Hoytsaw » 05 04, 2013 •  [Post 1]

Thought I would throw out a post to see if anyone was looking for Elk hunting partner. A lot more fun going out with someone, so I thought I would throw it out there. I am in my late thirties and picked up hunting three years ago. Most of my friends neither hunt or already have their camps set in place, so it has been difficult to break in so to speak. My Dad hunted when I was younger but never asked me to tag along. I am pretty much a self taught hunter trying to gather as much information through the internent as well out in the field. I was one step away from a pig last year, but I was shaking so bad I don't think I would have made a good shot. This is another reason for the post is a second set of hands to help pack out if all goes as planned.(Either side) Safety being first. I love being out there and would be nice to share the experience with someone that has your back. I am not too religious. I do drink, but there isn't time for it while hunting. Hopefully to raise a toast once the job is completed. As of now my hunting style is getting to the trail head and doing the heel toe express as far back as I feel comfortable and still hunt. I have always changed tactics and have seen critters numerous times. I read numerous threads about hunting parties and the camaraderie between them. I love reading those stories, but unfortunately I have not had that opportunity. I would like to teach my son one day if he holds an interest and give him something that I wasn't. I live in the mountains so it is hard for me to hit the local shooting range and meet fellow bowhunters. Anyways, I am sure I have left something out, but it's a starting point for those who wish to talk further. Good luck to all this fall!
Hoytsaw

Re: Looking for a partner?