Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Scouting too much?????

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Scouting too much?????

Postby 1bigpaddle » 08 15, 2013 •  [Post 1]

This is my first year elk hunting so every thing is a learning experience. But I've found some good areas one is better than the rest. Here is what I need help with... How much scouting is too much? I set up my trail camera in one spot, and when I went to check it, I had a large bull climb up the steep ridge and stand there looking at me at 10 yards away and there were 5 more bulls grazing about 100 yards farther! which was amazing to see. However, Im afraid to go back and check my camera again because I dont want to spook them or push them. That was a week ago now. When do I go back September with my bow? Or am I going to be fine if I wait another week to check my trail camera? Ive found bedding areas and feeding areas, trails, and watering wallows all in this area. have I scouted enough in this spot? when is enough enough and too much too much?
1bigpaddle

First Name: Ryan
Last Name: Cherveny

Re: Scouting too much?????

Postby stickflngr » 08 15, 2013 •  [Post 2]

Sounds like you have found a good spot... I check my cameras every 3 weeks or so and my last check will be this Saturday. Ive had cows at my spot a few hours after Ive been in there so I dont think I disturb them much. When you check your cams try to go in the middle of the day when your less likely to spook them and you should be fine. Good luck :D
stickflngr

Postby otcWill » 08 15, 2013 •  [Post 3]

I'd say, yes, you've scouted enough. Cams are more for fun with elk hunting than anything else IMO. Wait till the opener and go kill that bull! Good luck!
otcWill

Postby JimKirk » 08 15, 2013 •  [Post 4]