Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Elk & Mule Deer hunt tips

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Elk & Mule Deer hunt tips

Postby cis429 » 10 22, 2013 •  [Post 1]

Hello everyone - I'm sure my topic has been covered well, but I'd like to take the time to say hello and get some discussion going about something we all like to to talk about anyway.....in a few weeks I'll be going on my first elk hunt and first hunt in Colorado. I have a lot of experience hunting whitetails in Michigan.

I've lived in CO for many years and know the mountains well. I'm well prepared in gear and have scouted the area. I have both buck and bull tags. So my question is, what is the best general strategy to consider to maximize chances of success for both deer and elk? I'll be hunting around 10,000 feet in mid-November. Understanding weather will be a factor, what else should I consider?

Many thanks.
cis429

First Name: Curtiss
Last Name: S

Re: Elk & Mule Deer hunt tips

Postby Z Barebow » 10 22, 2013 •  [Post 2]

I doubt I can offer anything of huge importance, but I would say this. GOOD GLASS. Spend as much or more time glassing than moving.

Let your eyes do the walking and covering ground. The snow will betray not only the animals but their tracks. If you don't see tracks (with glass), there are no critters and move on. No need of trapesing through knee deep snow just to be "hunting".
Z Barebow

First Name: Brian
Last Name: Zastoupil

Postby Elkduds » 10 22, 2013 •  [Post 3]

Bucks and bulls aren't necessarily in the same location as each other now, since bulls are post-rut and bucks are pre-rut. Bucks are more likely to follow does down in elevation with a foot of snow, while bulls may not come down at all, or until there is more than 2' of snow.
Elkduds

First Name: Mark
Last Name: Scott

Postby ElkNut1 » 10 22, 2013 •  [Post 4]