Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Shooting at dusk

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Shooting at dusk

Postby Lonnie » 06 02, 2017 •  [Post 1]

Tonight I started shooting at dusk for practice. In the past I would never have done this. But I think you need to practice every senerio. Do you guys hunt the evenings when it is getting dark. I shot from 50 yards. I was not impressed with the group when I walked up. All I could see on the full size 3D elk is the tan. What tricks do you guys use or do you just head in to camp for a relaxing beer.
Lonnie

Re: Shooting at dusk

Postby Lefty » 06 02, 2017 •  [Post 2]

I sometimes practice late or even with the shop light on. I dont recall ever shooting beyond 20 yards in limited light. I had lasic so sometimes low light it is hard for me to see.
Rifle or bow If I cant see the target Im not shooting.
Lefty
Wapiti Hunting - Strategy and Tactics

First Name: Dennis
Last Name: H

Postby WapitiTalk1 » 06 02, 2017 •  [Post 3]

Yes and yes. Good on you for practicing when daylight is fading, oftentimes, it's the wee minutes just before you can't "see" your pins clearly anymore that a shot materializes. I personally check my visibility on my pins constantly in both morning and evening to ensure that I can draw, and, shoot effectively before I move on an elk or throw out that elk sound. I practice and have pins out to 60 yards but in early morning or at sunset, with limited visibility, I'm looking at my max effective range/distance to shoot at 30 or under.
WapitiTalk1

First Name: RJ

Postby Swede » 06 02, 2017 •  [Post 4]

I will shoot as long as there is sufficient light to see my critter clearly. I have a very large hole in my peep and long large fiber optic pins. Most (about 75%) of my elk kills are in the late afternoon or evening.
Swede
Wapiti Hunting - Tree Stand Tactics

Postby Old school » 06 03, 2017 •  [Post 5]