Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Bowhunting gmu 47 in CO

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Bowhunting gmu 47 in CO

Postby Arrowslinger615 » 01 03, 2018 •  [Post 1]

I'm new to Colorado and I've never hunted elk here before. I've hunted them up in Wyoming but haven't been able to venture down here. I've been looking at unit 47 I've read that it's thick and steep but that's all I've been able to muster up. Any info on the terrain or campgrounds in that area would be much appreciated. I'm not looking for anybody's honey hole or secret spot so don't get the wrong idea.
Arrowslinger615

Re: Bowhunting gmu 47 in CO

Postby Backyard » 01 03, 2018 •  [Post 2]

Google maps, Caltopo.com, a Sat. morning before anyone gets up, and a cup of coffee is all I need to find out that kind of info and more. I do some of my best scouting in my pajamas when it's -20 outside. :D
Backyard

Postby jmez » 01 04, 2018 •  [Post 3]

Very thick and very, very steep. I've hunted in there several times. Terrible deadfall everywhere off a trail. It is tough country and tough hunting.

Glassing isn't a great strategy as the only place you can see anything is above Timberline. When they are up there, and they will be, you don't need the binos to spot them! They have never been real vocal in this unit for us. Most all of the bugles you hear will be after dark. You need to put on miles, a lot of them, to find fresh sign and then set up and cold call the entire area where there is fresh sign. That is how we hunt it and have good luck doing that. You just aren't going to see many elk, too dense. Plan on 10-15 miles a day walking until you find them.