Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Pre-rut calling

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Pre-rut calling

Postby Joe Schmo » 01 18, 2018 •  [Post 1]

Not pre pre-rut like August but I'm talking pre "peak rut" like September 1-10. I have some experience with early season calling but not anywhere near what some folks have I'm sure. So my theory is, to shoot a big bull you gotta pass on little bulls but more importantly for me is that you gotta get close enough to a big bull to shoot him. I would much rather try and call him in and/or create interest from a biggun at a time when he does NOT have cows or at least a bunch of cows that he's tending to. I have called in a few bulls very early in September and of course it's not the same wide eyed foaming at the mouth screaming that you might get mid to late month...but they still come in. As of right now I'm planning on hunting Sept 4-11. I'm not a big fan of sitting still and I love cold calling for some strange reason. So how am I gonna call em in? Go through the threat levels? Open to suggestions!! Thanks!!
Joe Schmo

Re: Pre-rut calling

Postby Swede » 01 18, 2018 •  [Post 2]

Joe Schmo wrote:I'm not a big fan of sitting still

I admit I have not called elk over a wide range, so my perspective is limited. That said, I believe being in a hurry to move, especially in the early season is a big mistake. I would try to sound like a small bull, or a small herd of cows. Better yet you could be a small bull with a few cows. Stay in a set location and be patient. Wait 45 minutes to an hour. Numerous times I have given up only to move and busted out a bull coming in quiet. Of coarse it goes without saying, to kill a big bull you need to hunt where there are some big bulls.
Swede
Wapiti Hunting - Tree Stand Tactics

Postby WapitiTalk1 » 01 18, 2018 •  [Post 3]