Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Help with Bear

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Help with Bear

Postby larry83 » 10 09, 2016 •  [Post 1]

I drew a bear tag for unit 51 Colorado. Outside of spot and stalk do you guys have any other tactics that might help? This is my first time hunting bear and man I hope to be making bear chili soon? Thank you for your help in advance.
larry83

Re: Help with Bear

Postby Lefty » 10 09, 2016 •  [Post 2]

I just placed 180 lbs of apples and pears for bait here in Idaho.
Talk to the local CO or government trapper.
Lefty
Wapiti Hunting - Strategy and Tactics

First Name: Dennis
Last Name: H

Postby stringunner » 10 19, 2016 •  [Post 3]

In Oregon you can't bait them. I get as many bears on my cams as elk at water holes. Maybe try a stand at a water hole?

We have one stand that had 3 different bears coming to it throughout archery season, at a water hole. Over the course of 45 days that the camera was there, there was only 4 days that a bear didn't show up.
stringunner

Postby VT Sasquatch » 10 27, 2016 •  [Post 4]

Sounds like fun. I would think that it would be like finding a needle in a haystack unless you can bait in Colorado. Otherwise, I would think still hunting through a natural food source might work. (I don't know what the Colorado food sources are but, this time of year, I would imagine some kind of hard mast like oak).

I have tried the still hunting in Pennsylvania but never have had any luck on bears. Out this way, a large proportion of successful bear hunters get theirs through organized drives.

Good luck
VT Sasquatch

Postby Lefty » 10 29, 2016 •  [Post 5]

A buddy of mine is as nuts about bears as some guys are elk. He hunts Montana spot and stalk He looks for rich green grass,.. and torn stumps near thick timber
Lefty
Wapiti Hunting - Strategy and Tactics

First Name: Dennis
Last Name: H

Postby Roosiebull » 03 07, 2017 •  [Post 6]